Staff & Board



To contact a member of the staff, please call the Newport Historical Society at (401) 846-0813,  and click on the names above for extensions and email addresses. You can also submit a question by clicking here,  or write to the Newport Historical Society at 82 Touro Street, Newport, RI 02840

Board of Directors


Thomas P.I. Goddard

Harrison M. Wright
1st Vice President

Jessica Hagen
2nd Vice President

Dickson Boenning

Dorienne Farzan

Kenneth H. Lyons
President Emeritus

Dennis McCoy
President Emeritus

Anne F. Hamilton
Honorary Director


David Brodsky

Richard I. Burnham

James Farrar

Beatriz Ford

George G. Herrick

Victoria Johnson

Pamela Kelley

Elizabeth Leatherman

Matthew H. Leys

Douglas Newhouse

Dwight Sipprelle

Nancy Parker Wilson

Leadership Council, Charter Members 2011

Hugh D. Auchincloss, III
Newport, RI
Civic leader, foreign affairs scholar

Sylvia Brown
London and Newport
Donor advisor and philanthropist

Richard C. Crisson
Boston and Newport
Historical Architect, National Parks Service
Author of Architectural Preservation: a Proposal for the Optimum use of a Unique Local Architectural Resource and co-author of Sagamore Hill: Home of Theodore Roosevelt

Richard I. Burnham
Washington, DC and Newport
President Emeritus of the Newport Historical Society
Retired Foreign Service and World Bank officer, Philanthropist

Elaine Forman Crane
New York, NY
Professor of History at Fordham University
Author of Witches, Wife Beaters, and Whores: Common Law and Common Folk in Early America, A Dependent People: Newport, RI in the Revolutionary Era, and editor of the Journal “Early American Studies.”

David B. Ford
New York and Newport
President, DBF Associates

Anne F. Hamilton
Philadelphia and Newport
Honorary Director of the Newport Historical Society

Edward W. Kane
Concord, MA and Newport
Senior Advisor, HarbourVest Partners LLC

Michael C. Kathrens
Newport, RI
Architectural Historian
Author of The Great Houses of New York 1880-1930, Newport Villas: The Revival Styles 1885-1935 and American Splendor, The Residential Architecture of Horace Trumbauer.

Matthew Keagle
Independent Scholar

Karen Lloyd
Washington, DC
Director, Planning, Program Performance Assessment & Risk Management
Library of Congress

Philip C. Marshall
South Dartmouth, MA
Professor and Coordinator, Historic Preservation Program, Roger Williams University and consultant in historic preservation world-wide
Member of the board of the United States Committee of the International Council on Monuments and Sites (US/ICOMOS), Preserve Rhode Island, and Blithewold Mansion, Gardens & Arboretum.

Doug Riggs
Newport, RI
Books, Travel and Rhode Islander Editor at the Providence Journal
Author of Keelhauled: Unsportsmanlike Conduct and the America’s Cup and numerous articles on Newport history.

Pieter N. Roos
Portsmouth, RI
Executive Director, Newport Restoration Foundation
Co-author of Extraordinary Vision: Doris Duke and the Newport Restoration Foundation and Rough Point: The Newport Home of Doris Duke

Gerald W. R. Ward
Portsmouth, NH
Katharine Lane Weems Senior Curator of American Decorative Arts and Sculpture, Art of the Americas, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Author, co-author and editor of many volumes including American Case Furniture, Decorative Arts and Household Furnishings in America, 1650-1920:  An Annotated Bibliography, American Folk, and New England Silver and Silversmithing, 1620-1815.

Edward L. Widmer
Providence, RI
Director, John Carter Brown Library at Brown University
Author of Young America: The Flowering of Democracy in New York City, Martin Van Buren, co-author of Campaigns: A Century of Presidential Race; contributing editor to The American Scholar and a frequent contributor to a variety of publications, including The New York Times.